Culture Street

Maggie O'Farrell has penned her first non-fiction book, which will be published on August 24, 2017.

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes with Death is a series of essays, each one describing how "when death has brushed past" O’Farrell she became more determined to embrace life.

Her brushes with death include months in hospital as a child, after contracting a rare illness, an encounter with a disturbed man on a mountainside, and a severe illness in rural China. O’Farrell also opens up about caring for a child with a life-threatening medical condition.

"At times," O’Farrell has said, "when my child’s life has been under threat, I have asked myself, how do you carry on, how do you forge ahead, when mortality feels so close, when death is a daily possibility in your house? I wanted to write this book to explain that life is possible, even in the face of danger, even within medical limitations, and to show my daughter that she is not alone."

She added: "I never thought I would write a memoir. It began as a private project, to explain something about survival to my daughter, for when she is older, but as I wrote, it somehow expanded into I am, I am, I am, which I am certain is the only non-fiction book I will ever write."

Maggie O’Farrell is the author of seven novels. Her most recent novel is This Must Be the Place was shortlisted for the 2016 Costa Novel Award.

You Might Also Like


Everyone Brave Is Forgiven

By Sophia Whitfield

On May 13, 2016


Good Me Bad Me by Ali Land

By Sophia Whitfield

On February 6, 2017


What are you reading?

This week we are reading The War of the Wives by Tamar Cohen.

On September 19, 2012


Good night stories for rebel girls

Do you remember the story that first empowered you as a young girl?

On November 15, 2016


Kim Izzo's The Jane Austen Marriage Manual set for the big screen

Kim Izzo’s debut novel The Jane Austen Marriage Manual, published in Australia by Hachette, has been picked up by David Cormican (Stranded).

On April 16, 2013


We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler

By Sophia Whitfield

On March 10, 2014
Copyright © 2012 - 2020 Culture Street